Grad Trip: “What have you learned from your experience thus far?”

My friend asked me this before the end of our trip, and I’m glad he did. Not that I hadn’t thought about it, but I guess I hadn’t let my thoughts stew enough to come up with some kind of answer.

1. Even with over three weeks travel time, you still can’t get enough of a taste of any one place. It’s not possible. Even now, some of the memories are starting to get blurry. I wish I’d had three weeks in EACH place, not for all 19+.

2. Some places will just never be as amazing as they were in your head, while others will surprise the shit out of you. There are some cities, which shall remain nameless, that left me thoroughly unimpressed. At the same time, cities I wasn’t even looking forward to crept up and surprised me with a beautiful view or endlessly fun activities.

3. The whole trip made me feel like I know a lot less than I thought I did… about everything. Though I’ve always been somewhat cultured and open-minded, it makes me second guess a lot of what I’ve ever known. It makes me long for more exposure to things I don’t quite understand. It makes it really hard to sit in one place for too long when I know there’s so much more out there to discover, to know.

Leave a Reply

