Review: Mockingjay

I finally finished the trilogy sometime last week. I thought its writing was far superior than that of the previous books. I liked the plot and its darker themes, but there were a couple of moments where Collins wasn’t as solid with plot as in the previous two. The ending was done very well, but it was very, very surprising and kind of a punch in the face. It was one of the most poignant endings in any book I’ve ever read.

I was glad that I had finally made some decisions about the relationships between the characters by the time I was forced to by Collins.

Overall, I loved the story and Katniss. It took me a long time to decide if I liked some of the other characters and there could have been more description in almost every aspect of the novels. I thought Collins’ writing was mediocre, but will serve well for a movie script. I wouldn’t regard them as my favorites, but I would recommend them to everyone and I will always view the reading experience as exciting and enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

