The Struggle Is Real

Another entry originally from my selfie-themed Tumblr, I thought it was important to share my struggle with adult acne in case it can help someone else out there!

My journey with adult acne began (and mostly ended) in 2010. I can’t pretend it wasn’t hard to go from being a girl who never had acne to the girl whose face was riddled with it. I was lucky to never find myself in the face of a bully, but I know not everyone has that experience. I can’t imagine what it would have felt like to have someone point out the flaws all over my face that were already so painfully obvious in the mirror and in my head.

These are all unfiltered, zero-foundation photos. It is hard to let them go public as they are painful to re-live, but there is simultaneously something liberating about sharing them.

The day I went to the dermatologist.

The day I went to the dermatologist.

Day one of treatment.

Day one of treatment.

Day 2 of treatment.

Day 2 of treatment.

Day 3, and you can already see the red has faded to pink, and my skin has brightened, better lighting aside.

Day 3, and you can already see the red has faded to pink, and my skin has brightened, better lighting aside.

A couple of weeks out.

A couple of weeks out.

Right before the beach, I had a flareup again. I think it was preparing me for the inevitable worsening of acne brought on by sun and sunscreen.

Right before the beach, I had a flareup again. I think it was preparing me for the inevitable worsening of acne brought on by sun and sunscreen.

After the beach.

After the beach.

In August, after a summer of treatment. You can see a huge difference between the 1st photo and this one.

In August, after a summer of treatment. You can see a huge difference between the 1st photo and this one.

Starting to believe the acne will TRULY go away!

Starting to believe the acne will TRULY go away!

By the time I remembered to take an "after" shot, it was December. I have other makeup on, but no foundation or face coverage makeup of any sort in this (or any of the other) photos!

By the time I remembered to take an “after” shot, it was December. I have other makeup on, but no foundation or face coverage makeup of any sort in this (or any of the other) photos!

My solution was antibiotics and Epiduo gel. Yours might be different, but there IS a solution. Something is out there to help your skin, just like someone is out there to tell you you’re beautiful, no matter how many times you tell yourself you’re not.

Drop a line in the comments if you have any questions, need advice, or even just a friend to listen. I’m here for you!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

