April 20

To the man who gave me my sweet tooth.

To the man who heard me first utter my undying motto “I like too much.”

To the man who gave me half of my sense of humor.

To the man who also gave me my OCD about wastefulness.

To the man who taught me the value of laughing at farts.

To the man who told me how beautiful I was, no matter what I actually looked like.

To the man who called me “his girl” ’til the day he left.

To my Pop-Pop.

To the man who taught me the meaning of bear hugs.

To the man who told me all about Led Zeppelin.

To the man who taught me how to use tools and how to fix things.

To the man who showed me being strong and masculine doesn’t mean being insensitive.

To the man who illustrated kindness and perseverance to me in every way possible.

To the man who showed me that religion can be good, through and through, so long as the heart of the believer is, too.

To my Uncle J.

To the man who gave me my first real everything.

To the man who first fought with me over every real issue and then was always there anyway.

To the man who was first brave enough to love me back.

To the man who taught me what I don’t want, what I need, and what I deserve.

To the man who made me realize your best friend and your boyfriend should be one in the same.

To the man who showed me change is possible.

To the man who stayed up with me until 3 a.m. every school night, just because we couldn’t get enough.

To the man who asked my mom if he could have me forever.

To my first love, J.

One comment

Leave a Reply

