Little Black Flats

DSC_0343

It’s funny, you know? The things we take for granted, the things we use every day, never realizing how much they see of our lives.

The other day, my dog got a hold of my go-to suede black flats in a rare wild moment, and after watching them deteriorate for years, I realized in that moment it was time to start the search for a new pair before these trusty shoes gave out in the middle of a rainy May day or a particularly haggard summer day.

But as I turned them over in my hand, noticing the faded Sharpie that I once used to attempt to cover the exposed wood of these Merona shoes, I realized that they were only so ragged because they had seen so many important moments in my life.

DSC_0340

They saw me through my last year of walking around my mountainous, beautiful undergrad campus.

They saw me across the United States from Louisiana to California, to New Mexico and Texas.

They saw me through a solo trip to New York City, their soles finally wearing away after a day of walking all the way through Astoria and Manhattan.

They saw me through my first adult job, and then another, and another, and another.

They saw me meet the love of my life and have been with us every moment since.

They saw me return to higher education at a cobblestoned campus full of history and inspiration.

They saw me land a career I love, despite the fact that I have to walk on them 90% of the time.

They saw me through my first (official) solo living experience.

They saw me through every walk with my dog, through every aisle in every store, through every rain storm and sunny day, through every climb of a staircase, through all the ups and downs in my life.

DSC_0341copy

Thanks for everything, my little black flats! Your successors have some pretty big shoes to fill…

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 6.56.44 PM

Old Navy Sueded D’Orsay Flats

Leave a Reply

