Gonnas: Loose Ends of 26 for 26

photo

Alright, folks. As of Saturday, I officially transitioned from 26 to 27. I had a great year even during the rocky moments of depression and all the complications that come with it, but 27 feels awesome. I feel healthy, happy, and ready to grow.

That being said, it’s time to reveal how I ended up faring in my 26 Gonnas for 26 that I posed as goals for myself last year before my birthday. Anything crossed through was not accomplished.

1. Wake up with the sun at least 180 days over the next year.
2. Fly to visit my sister in Japan. Money did NOT allow! 😦
3. Finish my screenplay.
4. Don’t let items I have gathered to create a project sit on my shelf for more than 2 weeks…ever.
5. Diagnose and solve my voice problems, then sing publicly when I have the all clear.
6. Get my teaching license.
7. Write one blog every week!
8. Learn to drive a manual car.
9. Make 50 YouTube videos.
10. Get over my fear of heights by climbing a lighthouse, ziplining, both, or more!
11. Teach someone something life-changing.
12. Make a Southern road trip to Texas and back. My bff S moved back, so I didn’t have to!
13. Finish writing a book with C.
14. Learn how to sew.
15. Go legit camping for a weekend with J and the pups.
16. Spend more time with my family.
17. Do some photoshoots (at least one!) with a professional photographer.
18. Get something published.
19. Raise $500 for my business, Southern Sheek. I am in the process of deciding how I want to move forward with SS, so I put this on hold.
20. Do a Goodwill-level cleanout every 3 months until I only have what I (for the most part) need.
21. Let go of toxic people in my life.
22. Make a weekend trip to a new place, any place.
23. Write and send fanmail to all those people who have inspired me along the way.

24. Meet a sloth!
25. Really make 10 people’s day – five of whom I know and five strangers.
26. Be thankful and say so at the end of every day.

I did less than I had hoped. A lot of it was user error because I was too afraid or too broke (by my own budgeting failures), but there were a couple instances a bit beyond my control. Nonetheless, I did some cool stuff. I sang publicly, even though I still really need to get to an ENT to do so properly. I did a massive overhaul of my belongings and pared down a LOT. I got two licenses for teaching. I made days of people I knew, and even started to do it for strangers as I slowly recovered from my depression. Best of all, I remembered what it was like to feel and give gratitude and how to be more positive overall. I might have failed in some eyes, but to me, this whole project has been a victory.

That being said, I think after I tweak the loose ends of this project that I really and truly, 100% positive, will not need the gonnas anymore. So here they are: the final list of gonnas to cover over the next 6 months before I part ways with the project that made me a productive woman and a better person.

1. Diagnose and solve my voice problems NOW!
2. Learn how to drive a manual car without getting mad at J while he’s teaching me.
3. Make it a habit to make videos for the blog and YouTube, but focus on quality, not quantity.
4. Learn how to sew.
5. Take a weekend road trip to camp or visit an unknown place.
6. Get something published and/or finish my screenplay so as not to overwhelm my anxieties.
7. Write letters to all the people who have inspired me in some way or another.
8. Of course, MEET A SLOTH!
9. Remember to be positive every day, to strive for greatness and gratitude, to become the person you know you can be.
10. Set the Gonnas go.

Alright, folks. Six more months of gonnas and ONLY six more months. I can’t wait to see how it all ends up!

Leave a Reply

