Little DIY: Waste Basket

Due to the overwhelming pressure of Pinterest, and yes, lifestyle bloggers like myself, we’re often led to feel inadequate when we can’t perfectly DIY all the things, all the time. That led me to the idea of featuring the little DIYs I accomplish almost daily, ones that I myself overlook in search for the bigger picture.

But you know what? I often find that I love the little projects and spaces more than the larger ones. So here’s to celebrating little spaces and little victories!

First up: notice anything unappealing about my kitchen? I mean, other than the gaudy 70s brown everywhere (that I’m not allowed to alter – ah!) and the florescent lighting.

DSC_0329

and yes, I have since straightened Chewy (the painted sloth).

I’ll give you a hint:

DSC_0330

This swine-colored trash can makes me want to vomit. I don’t like too much plastic in my house to begin with because I’d rather invest in wood or metal pieces that will stay with me for the long haul, as well as keep the environment a little less screwed. BUT, as obvious from my habits such as thrifting, I’m not a girl to turn down something cheap or free. This waste bin was the latter.

Spray painting it was my first instinct, but as I don’t really have a good area to spray paint, I knew that was out. That was when I remembered my stash of everyone’s best friend: contact paper.

DSC_0332

I whipped up a free-hand design, but you could use helpful patterns like these free printable stencils on Pinterest OR buy your own elsewhere. It’s really a free-for-all.

DSC_0334

I’m sure I could have used a stencil to make the typography on this little DIY a bit more cohesive and crafty, but you know what? I like a little bit of whimsy.

DSC_0335

I simply peeled off the protective back of my contact paper-cutout and stuck it right on my waste bin.DSC_0336

There, isn’t that better? Chewy approves.

DSC_0338

IF ONLY I COULD PAINT THOSE CABINETS AND GET NEW HARDWARE FOR THAT FRIDGE! Le sigh.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

