Forget FOMO

FOMO (fear of missing out): the fear of missing out on something or someone more interesting, exciting or better than what we’re currently doing

It’s easy to get caught up in FOMO because we don’t often share our struggles. In a world of oversharing, all we see are the highlights in people’s lives. People are ready to share their accomplishments, brag about their newest gifts, and talk about all of the great things happening in life. Often, the only time we get a glimpse of the “bad” is when someone is posting a feel-sorry-for-me diatribe meant only for attention. Even then, it’s not real.

Online reality is different from, well, reality. It’s fake; a mere snippet of the broad spectrum of the ups and downs of life.

So in case you’ve ever felt #fomo upon stumbling on my blog, here are some all-over-the-place tidbits to make the Internet a little less shallow and a little more honest:

  • I feel a complete sense of anxiety and anger every day due to high pressure from multiple sources. I could opt not to care, sure, but then I wouldn’t improve or get anything done properly.
  • Yes, there are times I show off brilliant and expensive new items of clothing, etc., but there are other times, like now, where I must live until the next paycheck before I can do things as simple as pay bills, go grocery shopping, and buy items for my classroom.
  • My relationship isn’t perfect. Yes, I am satisfied fully with it — I wouldn’t be in it otherwise — but we don’t have that fairy tale romance because fairy tales are fiction. We have to work hard. Sometimes we go to bed mad because that’s actually, despite what Cosmo will tell you, okay. We push each other’s buttons on purpose, and we get grumpy. That’s part of life, part of choosing to be in a relationship with one person you are 100% devoted to loving.
  • My car is pretty literally falling apart, and I am nowhere near close to being able to get a new one, despite the fact that I have a full-time job and two degrees.
  • My acne has returned thanks to my own foolish lapse in doctor’s appointments, and I’ve gained four pounds since starting the school year because Red Bull and STRESS!
  • I am tired all. the. time. Balancing “having it all” is not easy, no matter how many books tell you. Those people who do have it all? They have the money and staff to help them keep the overwhelmed load at bay.
  • I have bad days. I have bad weeks. I have bad months. I’ve even had a mostly bad year from time to time in my life. We all will, and that’s okay. That’s normal. That is reality, not social media.

Remember the next time you feel a twinge of jealously or guilt due to FOMO that we’re all just our own PR reps, and we’re very selective about what we choose. We believe there IS such a thing as bad press, so we only roll our highlight reel.

Have you ever experienced FOMO? How have you overcome it?

One comment

Leave a Reply

