Liebster Award 2014

I cherish when I am running low on creativity and inspiration, and something just drops out of thin air to take care of the problem! This time around, my friend Kerrie over at Snow5Hundred nominated me for the Liebster Award, which makes me feel all kinds of fluffy inside. I adore bloggers promoting other bloggers… ADORE IT! Liebster means lots of lovely things in German (including lovely), and here are the rules for the blogging-based award that have evolved over time.

So without further ado, here’s my mini Q&A for y’all to enjoy, especially if you’re new here!

1. Why do you blog?

Writing isn’t just my passion/craft, it’s in my DNA. My grandma is a writer. My parents are writers. My aunt is a writer. My sister is a writer. It’s in the genes, you know?

I began writing at a small age, often with my friends (a large majority of whom are also writers). We would whip up horror stories, songs for musicals, and even movie scripts, which we would then turn into the real deal with the world’s largest camcorder. I wrote a book every year and won a couple of awards through the Young Writers program.

I jumped on the blogging train very early without realizing it (thanks, Xanga). It started as an outlet solely for me to write down my day-to-day. It evolved over the years, eventually moving to Tumblr where I was able to sort of hone the craft and make it a little more about community and a little less about me. And then, while shooting the shit with my mom, the idea for the Gonnas was born. From there, it was history.

While I could not imagine NOT writing short stories, novels, and screenplays in my spare time, there’s nothing like the interaction between a blogger and her audience. You build a community. You get to use all different mediums and test all sorts of features with immediate feedback. And maybe, if you’re lucky, you find your niche and even more fulfilling, your voice.

I write because I have to. I blog because I love it.

2. What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

This is like asking a mother her favorite child. You love mint chocolate chip for its simplicity, but you can’t get over the richness of {insert any type of gelato here}. You obsess over the swirls of magic in Liz Lemon, but dream about trips to Baskin Robbins. I would possibly be able to answer this question under threat of death……….. possibly.

3. Share your favorite quote.

Again, hard to say. Quotes are my lifeblood on a horrific day. How about my favorite aka most inspiring for this present moment in time? Sound good?? Good!

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

4. Describe your perfect date.

“That’s a tough one. I’d have to say April 25. Because it’s not too hot, not too cold… all you need is a light jacket!”

… ah, I deflect my indecisiveness with humor as usual. I suppose I’m an all-or-nothing girl. Give me a completely relaxed date {camping out inside on the bed with lots of food and movies or a quiet hike on the BRP in crappy clothes} or go all out {5-course meals, spontaneous trips to magical places, camp under the stars and watch the sunrise, etc}. I don’t mind the in-betweens, but it’s those no-effort or all-effort dates that really stick with me. As J will tell you, though, I remember almost everything about my relationships (ere-go date details) with annoying accuracy, so I suppose any date that didn’t involve injury or heartbreak would jive as great in my mind.

5. How do you show love to others?

This truly depends on the person, but I think if a random poll were to be taken by my loved ones, they’d all say I’ve written them notes from the heart and given them a handmade gift at some point or another. I also give lots of unwarranted physical attention to those I love. Sorry for all those boob honks, Mom. You’re just so squeezable. (Just steer clear of my mouth. I also like to bite people I love. How my sister’s adorable, perfect, little nose-tip is still attached to her, I will never know.)

+ + +

I now nominate my sisters-in-blogging, Killary Scales, Kaceyamanda, Adrasteia’s Labyrinth, plus my real sis, Worm the Germ. Oh, and Marvelous-Darling if she fits the under-200 subscriber rule… but she gets some pretty heavy traffic over on that fab blog of hers (TEARS OF PRIDE RUNNING ALL OVER MY FACE)!

My questions for you, my beautiful starfish, are:

  1. What’s your favorite part about being a blogger?
  2. If you could only eat three foods for the rest of your life, what dishes would they be and why?
  3. What’s been your most life-changing moment so far?
  4. If you had the chance to write for a full-time job, would you? Why or why not?
  5. Describe the one scene from anything (movie, book, show, etc.) that can always make you laugh, even when you’re feeling like you’re in the bottom of a ghastly pit.

Keep calm and Liebster on, friends.

One comment

Leave a Reply

