Bitten

image
Create Your Own Visited States Map

The ever-cliche travel bug has dined on my skin somewhere lately, for better or worse. I say for worse due to the fact that I don’t have the money to travel, nor do I have the time… or a passport… or a comfortability with flying.

But the thing is, I will never have enough money or time or a flight that isn’t filled with heart-stopping anxiety. I will never be ready because no one ever is for anything scary or different or even exciting. Especially when that someone is on a way-too-low salary to even buy a new car or start saving for retirement. I don’t wanna retire anyway. Crazy, right?

So my priorities are a little different from others, and my savings plan goes to different things, and maybe that’ll end up being a huge mistake when I look back on my life. But I can’t deny the world out there I long to explore for the safety of home, for the “what-ifs” I’ve had since a girl. I will always worry, and things will always happen. But I am not going to NOT travel anymore because of those hypotheticals. What if they never, ever, ever happen? Ohhhhhhh, META!

My first step is to nab a passport so I can make my way to my sister in the Pacific and somewhere (anywhere) in Europe next year. And in the meantime? Well, I’m gonna try my hardest to fill in those white states up there by searching for deals, hitting up pals, looking for short-term work gigs, and dragging all of you (and maybe J) along for the ride.

Where have you traveled lately? Any tricks-of-the-trade, deals, or secrets I need to know, travel junkies? Talk to me!

Leave a Reply

