Prepping for a New’n

This idea comes from Into Mind. I saw it on the blog and thought it’d be perfect to post here to share my experiences in 2014 and my dreams for 2015 with my favorite people: my readers!

YOUR 2014

    • 1. What one event, big or small, are you going to tell your grandchildren about? Hands down, this goes to my sister’s mega Christmas surprise of leaving Japan and ending up on our front porch instead of in Thailand as she led us to believe.
    • 2. If you had to describe your 2014 in 3 words, what would they be? Chaotic, progressive, eye-opening.
    • 3. What new things did you discover about yourself? That I truly cannot do something “tolerable;” that I must do what I love. That I need an environment and people who allow me to go full-throttle on being myself and only myself. That I need to live instead of what I’ve been doing.
    • 4. What single achievement are you most proud of? Changing the lives of my students.
    • 5. What was the best news you received? That I’m going to officially be an {unofficial} aunt next June 😀
    • 6. What was your favourite place that you visited in 2014? Everywhere I visited in ol’ 2014 would be categorized as repeats, but it was really nice to get back to Boone twice this year.
    • 7. Which of your personal qualities turned out to be the most helpful this year? I suppose honesty, or rather, openness.
    • 8. Who was your number one go-to person that you could always rely on? Jeff
    • 9. Which new skills did you learn? Hm… mayhaps I am forgetting something, but this wasn’t a particularly fruitful year for skill-learnage.
    • 10. What, or who, are you most thankful for? I’m most thankful for the love that got me and my circle through this year, spanning from the weddings and other celebrations we attended to the hugs we gave one another when we were crying or laughing.
    • 11. If someone wrote a book about your life in 2014, what kind of genre would it be? A comedy, love story, drama, film noir or something else? A coming-of-age comedy-drama with some awesome highs, but LOTS of lulls.
    • 12. What was the most important lesson you learnt in 2014? When all the outer AND inner elements are right, there will still be people who work really hard to bring you down; if your heart’s not in it, let them. Let them show you that you need to move on. Let them show you that you deserve more, better, what your soul’s been aching for while you’ve been skating by on simply surviving instead of living…
    • 14. What 5 people did you most enjoy spending time with? 1) My roomie. 2) The Wolfpack. 3) My clan. 4) My clan’s clan. 5) SQUAD.
    • 15. What was your biggest break-through moment career-wise? Landing a new job, I suppose……..
    • 16. How did your relationship to your family evolve? I have tried really hard to get closer to all of the “families” in my life, and as the year comes to a close, I know that something has shifted positively. Still can’t wait to do a better job in 2015, though.
    • 17. What book or movie affected your life in a profound way? The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho {explanation here}.
    • 18. What was your favourite compliment that you received this year? “You’re the best teacher because you actually care.” – So many of my students aka LOVE Y’ALL.
    • 19. What little things did you most enjoy during your day-to-day life? I’m not gonna lie, my Smart TV is straight up the savior of my sanity this year, and spending time with that every afternoon was pretty rad. Also, my dogs. And caffeine. AND BAKED GOODS!
    • 20. What cool things did you create this year? A pretty spot-on Bellatrix Lestrange costume that won a contest at the HP Yule Ball. Some cool photo backdrops (even though I haven’t used them all… yet). Some cute little ledge gardens. A hot bod… for the first 8 months of 2014, at least.
    • 21. What was your most common mental state this year (e.g. excited, curious, stressed)? STRESSED.
    • 22. Was there anything you did for the very first time in your life this year? I had my first fancy four-course+ meal. I mean, technically it was NYE of 2013, but I’M COUNTING IT! There were a million other tiny things, too, but food wins.
    • 23. What was your favourite moment spent with your friends? We had some great times in so many different ways, from big birthday celebrations in cozy mountain cabins to beach trips galore to late-night mini Christmas parties and everything in between.
    • 24. What major goal did you lay the foundations for? I tried to lay the foundations for my own business. Only customers and 2015 can see where it all will go!
    • 25. Which worries turned out to be completely unnecessary? Hm. This is a tough question for someone with an anxiety disorder AND an extremely intuitive intuition (ha). I feel like all my worries turned out to be valid, even if I only found out months later that they were. Hey, maybe that’s just the GAD talking.
    • 26. What experience would you love to do all over again? The Paul McCartney concert!! An amazing experience from head to toe.
    • 27. What was the best gift you received? I received a lot of great stuff, but my Valentine’s day surprise from J was out of this world, especially since part of it was going to see Shaun of the Dead on the big screen!
    • 28. How did your overall outlook on life evolve? I feel like my year started more positively than it ended, so I’d like to think that I had grateful/joyous intentions with my outlook that then got beaten down by life the rest of the year.
    • 29. What was the biggest problem you solved? Finding a damn house in this new city! J & I searched foreverrrrr.
    • 30. What was the funniest moment of your year, one that still makes it hard not to burst out laughing when you think about it? I can think of a couple of things that instantly bring a smile to my face, but I feel like they are meant to stay private to keep them hilarious…….. and to save face for a few folks 😉
    • 31. What purchase turned out to be the best decision ever? My one-bedroom apartment for myself. It was really great living alone and supporting myself, getting to do what I wanted, when I wanted!
    • 32. What one thing would you do differently and why? Held out for true fulfillment by not letting money drive my decision-making about what I have to do for 5/7ths of my life.
    • 33. What do you deserve a pat on the back for? Moving me, myself, and I FOUR TIMES without killing myself or anyone who came to help.
    • 34. What activities made you lose track of time? Podcast-filled road trips, Netflix binges, organizing my life, and spending time with loved ones while laughing non-stop.
    • 35. What did you think about more than anything else? Work, unfortunately. I even nightmare dream about it.
    • 36. What topics did you most enjoy learning about? The back of my eyelids and what Netflix selection would best bring me there. (Dude, exhaustion is a big ol’ bitch that can ruin your whole life; THIS IS A SERIOUS OFFENSE!)
    • 37. What new habits did you cultivate? 1) Cleaning every day to keep the mess at bay. 2) Not drinking.
    • 38. What advice would you give your early-2014 self if you could? It’s not going to get any less crazy until you jump off the crazy-train, so just grit and bear it until you can escape!
    • 39. Did any parts of your self or your life do a complete 180 this year? My better self (happy, hard-working, healthy, productive) was sabotaged mid-year by my worse self (depressed, over-working, unhealthy, sedentary). Here’s to my better self having all the say in 2015.
    • 40. What or who had the biggest positive impact on your life this year? My career had the biggest impact on me this year. I taught students who became family, finally made some friends at work, and realized what does and doesn’t work for me as a human, the latter of which is something I’ll be delving into majorly in 2015…

YOUR 2015

    • 41. What do you want the overarching theme for your 2015 to be? Metamorphosis.
    • 42. What do you want to see, discover, explore? I want to explore new countries, especially a few in Europe. I want to see more of what I want to see, which sounds vague, but makes sense if you feel like you’ve been confined most of your adult life.
    • 43. Who do you want to spend more time with in 2015? Myself.
    • 44. What skills do you want to learn, improve or master? I want to learn how to sew and woodwork. I want to improve my crafting skills. I want to master fashion, running a business, and being myself without saying “sorry” every two seconds.
    • 45. Which personal quality do you want to develop or strengthen? Authenticity.
    • 46. What do you want your everyday life to be like? 200% less stressful than any day this past year, and filled with joy, gratification, quality work, and love. A little dancing wouldn’t hurt either.
    • 47. Which habits do you want to change, cultivate or get rid of? I would like to get out of the habit of spacing 100% when I leave work. I want to change my living habits to be more minimalistic. I want to cultivate my work ethic I apply in an office and transfer it to be the same anywhere.
    • 48. What do you want to achieve career-wise? Work for myself for now and ever and EVER, amen.
    • 49. How do you want to remember the year 2015 when you look back on it 10/20/50 years from now? As the year I did everything for myself (DOES NOT EQUAL selfish) and finally got my shit together.
    • 50. What is your number one goal for 2015? To finally live doing the things that will keep my best self at the forefront, even if that means losing money, reputation, grace, friends, family, lovers, etc.
2 comments

Leave a Reply

