Closet Makeover

The biggest part of my life is my clothes.

Sure, that may be shallow, but think about it. Every day requires you to dress, at least if you work in a locale that ISN’T a nude beach. Most of us, including myself on a lot of my earlier mornings (aka WORK DAYZ), dress solely for function and comfort.

But mostly, I dress for form. I dress for art, for beauty, for fun. I dress for myself, and I dress to express whatever that self is thinking or feeling on a given day.

So screw family and friends, the biggest part of my life is clothes.

(Just kidding, y’all. You know I’d go nakey before I went without you!)

In the house of a lady whose clothes take precedence over every other chore, however, the closet is KINDA a big deal. It has to be large enough to house all the ammunition, and no matter how big it is, it has to be organized and clean, else you forget you own that fabulous crochet dress next time summer rolls around.

Enter the issue with our current rental: the closet, while a walk-in, is so narrow and horribly designed that neither of us really have room for anything. When we moved in, I just kinda threw everything inside, so it looked like this for a long time:

IMG_4187 IMG_4188

I didn’t even edit these because I wanted my emotion about this closet sitch to come through 100%: PURE DARKNESS, AGONIZING CHAOS, CLAUSTROPHOBIC WALLS CLOSING IN, PANIC ATTACK SETTING IN……..

So over the past few months, I’ve tried really hard to do a lot of things: pare down, move things around, buy helpful organization tools, and replace old, crappy hangers with new, slimmer ones I can use forever (that won’t hurt my garments).

While it won’t ever be perfect, lest a wall gets torn down and expansion becomes an option (NOT AN OPTION), here’s what I’m working with now:

IMG_5652

I crated up half of my shoes so they won’t scatter the floor of the already cramped space.

IMG_5653

For the more sturdy, expensive shoes, I installed a shoe rack and utilized the under bar of the (poorly chosen and installed) shelves already existing in the closet.

IMG_5654

IMG_5655

I turned a lot of my old crates into viewable storage for more stackable items, like my workout clothes and purses.

IMG_5656

More boxes turned viewable storage. Can we talk about that HORRIFIC florescent lighting? Should never, ever, EVER be an option, let alone in a CLOSET!

This is the best I’m gonna get, I’m not too upset with it, AND I’ve decided to just let it go. We’re moving out in a few months–I maintain this closet is one of our top 5 reasons why we’re itching to get the hell out–so what’s the point? As much as I love organization and home decor, sometimes the best thing one can do is recognize a lost cause when you see one.

And Project Appleberry? The biggest lost cause of all time. You know what, though? That’s okay. The best lesson I’ve learned from this project is that some things are better left undone so you can focus on projects worthy of your time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

