Bravery in the Blog

I may not know much, or hell, even that much at all, but at least I know I’m brave.

I’m brave enough to speak my opinions, whether my readers will agree or not.

I’m brave enough to show my humanity through happiness, anger, sadness, bitching, etc. because I won’t pretend to feel a way others deem “acceptable” just to make said folks comfortable.

I’m brave enough to keep going, despite so many people telling me to stop because “nothing will ever come of this space.”

I’m brave enough to disconnect from people, no matter who they are, who don’t get why I would choose a blog over a career that doesn’t accept what the blog has to say.

I’m brave enough to say e.x.a.c.t.l.y. what I’m thinking.

I’m brave enough to come here and write anything–even the uncomfortable stuff–and sign my name to it.

So why, why, why, is one of you hiding behind the anonymity of the Internet, trying to infiltrate my life? Why are you wasting your time? I will always be here whether you want me to be or not. I may change the blog’s interface or subject matter or header 89 times, but I, the author, will still stand behind it, no matter those changes. I will be here, tall and unwavering, no matter what warfare you’re inexplicably trying to start. In fact, many of the things you’ve tried to accomplish over TWO ENTIRE YEARS have never, ever worked. Let it go or stop reading, plain and simple.

I’m brave enough to say without hesitation that you are a coward. You are someone who has some great void in life, and you fill it with hate instead of newfound interests or love. You are someone who has nothing better to do with your time than to type comments or send emails from behind a veil.

I get it. I certainly would be bored if I couldn’t say precisely what I desired to or confront someone face-to-face. But maybe, just maybe, you could try to be brave. Whatever your problem is, you will never solve it behind that curtain of hate, that security blanket of secrecy, that misdirected keyboard thrashing.

I’m even brave enough to forgive you if you ever want to join us in the Land of the Free Thinkers. If not, just stay in your lane, and let the rest of us write and live our lives to the fullest.

2 comments

  1. Wow. I admire your strong conviction. I think if everyone can be like you and speak their mind they wouldn’t be as miserable. Life’s too short to be unhappy. I haven’t read any of your other writing yet but I’m curious what exactly inspired this current post? Is it based on one person or have you had a series of negative feedback? If it’s only one person I think you are giving them way too much power by dedicating an entire blog post to them. I can tell you are great writer and a passionate person. It’s a shame that anyone would tell you to stop.

    1. Thank you, lovely! I have had a series of people try to sabotage my career(s) because they did not agree with my blog entries. Luckily, I have always had supportive co-workers who enjoy my blog and freedom of speech! I have also had a long string of negative feedback (both here AND by people in person) that COULD have been constructive quickly turn to negativity meant to hurt, not help. I just had to vent the best way I know how: writing! Thank you so much for your positivity, your support, and a comment that embodies everything opposite of what I wrote about. I will definitely take what you said to heart — they get no more power after today! Xo

Leave a Reply

